Freitag, 17. Juli 2015
Tag 28 04:02 - 04:02 (15.07.-16.07.)
Je vous ai compris. That's What De Gaulle said before slaughtering the people of Algier.
When I started this experiment I never thought I would reach so many people. All I wanted was to show my friends and the people who know me that tolerance and respect is something that we can learn. That, if we are open minded and friendly and show respect to others, we can form a better community.
But from the moment I started I had trouble with a lot of people saying: have fun converting to Islam, why are you doing this, this is stupid, it is dangerous, it is not healthy. Actually: that just made me stronger and more eager to start and finish this experiment.
Why are so many people around me so narrow-minded? Am I the same? So I started researches I talked to Christians and to Moslems and got all the information I needed to start.
"You are not allowed to drink?" Nope. "Not at all?" Nope. And after telling the 20th person that I am not religious, neither muslima nor christian, that I want to do this to open the eyes of other people I realised that I got more and more positive feedback from other, encouraging me to move on, not eating or drinking or smoking in front of me and really caring for what I do - and listening to what ramadan really is about.
See I won't lie - I have not understood you yet completely. I do not pray. I believe in the mind of every single person. I believe that we all have the means to be a good person and to accept and to respect other people despite the colour of their skin, their religion or their handicaps. But we need more understanding. We have to become one again - we are one human race but we need to realize it. So that everyone of us can say one day honestly with all his heart: je vous ai compris - and every war is over.

... comment